WALES international Cai Evans moves from full-back to fly-half for the Dragons' game against Connacht in the United Rugby Championship tomorrow (8pm).

The 24-year-old, who won his second cap with a brief cameo for Wales in the Six Nations loss to England at Twickenham, makes his third start of the campaign in the 10 jersey at Rodney Parade.

Evans pulled the strings in the narrow European Challenge Cup loss at Pau and URC hammering at Cardiff and will now go head-to-head with ex-Dragon JJ Hanrahan.

He comes in for Will Reed, who drops to the bench, with Jordan Williams in at 15 in a much-changed line-up from the 36-19 loss to Benetton.

Wales internationals Elliot Dee (for his 150th club appearance) and Aaron Wainwright come back into the XV at hooker and number eight, with their fellow Six Nations squad member Taine Basham shifting to openside flanker.

Head coach Dai Flanagan also recalls a number of senior figures who did not feature in Treviso - captain and centre Steff Hughes, scrum-half Rhodri Williams, loosehead Rhodri Jones, lock Matthew Screech and blindside Harri Keddie.

Ewan Rosser replaces big brother Jared on the wing because of a minor leg injury and Chris Coleman gets the nod at tighthead.

“It’s a big challenge for us, but one we need to embrace. Rodney Parade has always been a tough place for teams to come, but we need to make it tougher," said head coach Dai Flanagan.

"We need to limit errors, put more pressure on away teams earlier in games and see games off.”

Connacht include ex-Dragons fly-half Hanrahan in a side that features big hitters Bundee Aki, Denis Buckley and Finlay Bealham.

Defeat would do serious damage to their play-off bid with coach Pete Wilkins braced for a serious test.

"Rodney Parade is always a tough place for visiting teams and we're fully aware of the importance of us getting a win in the context of the overall season," he said.

"With Denis, Gavin [Thornbury], Cian [Prendergast] and Tiernan [O'Halloran] coming in, they bring added experience and leadership which is needed in these type of games."

Dragons: Jordan Williams; Rio Dyer, Steff Hughes (captain), Aneurin Owen, Ewan Rosser; Cai Evans, Rhodri Williams; Rhodri Jones, Elliot Dee, Chris Coleman, Ben Carter, Matthew Screech, Harri Keddie, Taine Basham, Aaron Wainwright.

Replacements: James Benjamin, Rodrigo Martinez, Luke Yendle, George Nott, Sean Lonsdale, Che Hope, Will Reed, Joe Westwood.

Connacht: Tiernan O’Halloran, Shane Jennings, Tom Farrell, Bundee Aki, John Porch; JJ Hanrahan, Matthew Devine; Denis Buckley, Dave Heffernan, Finlay Bealham, Joe Joyce, Gavin Thornbury, Shamus Hurley-Langton, Conor Oliver, Cian Prendergast.

Replacements: Dylan Tierney-Martin, Peter Dooley, Sam Illo, Oisín Dowling, Jarrad Butler, Caolin Blade, Cathal Forde, Paul Boyle.

Referee: Federico Vedovelli (Italy).