NEWPORT County AFC will face Bromley in League Two next season after they beat Solihull Moors in a Wembley penalty shoot-out.

The Kent club will play in the Football League for the first time in their 132-year history after a thriller in the National League play-off final.

Skipper Byron Webster slotted the decisive spot-kick as Bromley won 4-3 on penalties after 120 minutes of football had produced a 2-2 draw.

Bromley, who finished the season two places and five points above Solihull in third, went ahead after 41 minutes through Michael Cheek’s cool finish as Solihull appeals for a foul on Alex Whitmore went unheard.

Their opponents, beaten in the 2022 play-off final by Grimsby, levelled three minutes after the interval when Grant Smith pushed out Tahvon Campbell’s shot into the path of Joe Sbarra.

Cheek restored Bromley’s lead after 58 minutes when brought down by goalkeeper Nick Hayes, the striker confidently converting his 26th goal of the season from the spot.

Solihull levelled again within seven minutes as Jamie Osborne advanced to beat Smith from 20 yards, but it was the Bromley goalkeeper who was to ultimately prove the hero.

South Wales Argus: DESPAIR: Joss Labadie and Tyrese Shade after Solihull Moors' defeatDESPAIR: Joss Labadie and Tyrese Shade after Solihull Moors' defeat (Image: PA)

Smith saved Solihull’s first two penalties from Tyrese Shade and former County captain Joss Labadie, and Cheek, Olufela Olomola and Jude Arthurs held their nerve before Webster sent Bromley up to the fourth tier of English football.

It was another dose of Wembley heartbreak for midfielder Labadie, who was denied in controversial circumstances twice with the Exiles in League Two play-off finals.

Bromley become the 20th team to be confirmed in next season's fourth tier, joining champions Chesterfield in coming up.

Cheltenham, Port Vale, Fleetwood and Carlisle are coming down while the League Two play-off semi-finals pit Milton Keynes against Crawley and Doncaster versus Crewe.

League Two teams 2024/25: Accrington, AFC Wimbledon, Barrow, Bradford, Bromley, Carlisle, Chesterfield, Cheltenham, Colchester, Fleetwood, Gillingham, Grimsby, Harrogate, Morecambe, Newport County, Notts County, Port Vale, Salford, Swindon, Tranmere, Walsall.

Changes from 2023/24: Promoted - Stockport, Wrexham, Mansfield; play-offs - MK Dons/Doncaster/Crewe/Crawley; relegated - Sutton, Forest Green Rovers.