JAMES Kinsella’s fitting farewell at Cwmbran Celtic has won the Cymru South manager of the month award for April.

The Celtic stalwart has left his role with the club after leading them to a ninth-placed finish.

Cwmbran finished the campaign with a flourish to pick up 10 points from a possible 12 in April with a 3-3 draw at Pontardawe Town – when they conceded late on – followed by a 6-0 win over Abergavenny Town, 4-1 success against Trefelin and 3-1 victory against Goytre United.

Late strikes gave Kinsella a winning send-off, and also led to Alex Bonthron winning the golden boot.

South Wales Argus: Cwmbran Celtic's Alex Bonthron battles for a headerCwmbran Celtic's Alex Bonthron battles for a header (Image: Steve Roberts)

The prolific striker is in the mix for Cymru South player of the season with voting online HERE until Monday and the winners announced at the FAW National Leagues Awards on Saturday, June 8.

Bonthron scored 30 goals and provided 10 assists in 28 fixtures with highlights of four goals versus Abergavenny and a goal and two assists against high-flying Llanelli Town.

He is up against Briton Ferry Llansawel forward Luke Bowen, who was pipped to top scorer after being a leading figure for the champions, and Ammanford winger Tristan Jenkins.

Meanwhile, Bonthron and Celtic teammate Lewis Iles were part of the South Wales squad that beat their northern rivals to represent Tîm Rhanbarthol Cymru in the 2024/25 UEFA Regions’ Cup.

The south won 4-1 on aggregate thanks to a 2-1 triumph at Trefelin’s Ynys Park on Sunday with goals by Cambrian and Clydach Vale’s Liam Eason and Pontardawe Town’s Joe Lloyd.

Gresford Athletic’s Haci Ozlu lashed home a consolation strike for the visitors in the second half.

Andy Hill’s side will now move on to the UEFA Regions’ Cup intermediate round in Serbia in September, where Tîm Rhanbarthol Cymru have been drawn in a group with the RAT (Regional Amateur Teams) from Serbia, Slovakia and North Macedonia.

The eight intermediate round group winners will qualify for the finals – to be held, in principle, in the first two weeks of either June or July 2025 and hosted by one of the qualifiers.