NEWPORT County AFC will learn their northern opponents in the Nathaniel MG Cup tomorrow evening.

The Exiles are joining the competition as a wildcard – which they were due to do in 2020/21 before the Covid pandemic – along with Cardiff City, Swansea City and Merthyr Town.

With the Welsh League Cup regionalised until the semi-finals, County have been placed in the northern section.

That means there won’t be an all-Newport tie against Newport City, who have headed up to Cymru South from Ardal SE along with champions Trethomas Bluebirds.

Cwmbran Celtic are the other Gwent club that will be in the southern part of the draw for rounds one and two that will be broadcast on RedWall+ at 8pm on Wednesday.

The 12 Cymru Premier clubs are granted byes into the second round alongside four tier two clubs based on their finishing positions in 2023/24 – Ammanford, Colwyn Bay, Llanelli Town and Pontypridd United.

Round one takes place on the weekend of July 19 – when the Exiles’ first team will be playing a friendly against Barry Town United in the build-up to the August 10 League Two opener – with the second round on August 2.

Last season’s winners were The New Saints, who overpowered Swansea’s under-21s 5-1 in the final.

County still have some tune-ups to announce with the EFL fixtures revealed at 9am on Wednesday, June 26.

Nathaniel MG Cup round one teams

South: Afan Lido, Baglan Dragons, Caerau Ely, Cambrian United, Cardiff City, Carmarthen Town, Cwmbran Celtic, Goytre United, Llantwit Major, Merthyr Town, Newport City, Penrhiwceiber Rangers, Swansea City, Taffs Well, Trefelin, Trethomas Bluebirds.

North: Newport County AFC, Airbus UK Broughton, Bangor 1876, Buckley Town, Caersws, Denbigh Town, Flint Mountain, Gresford Athletic, Guilsfield, Holywell Town, Llandudno, Llay Miners Welfare, Mold Alexandra, Penrhyncoch, Prestatyn Town, Ruthin Town.

Round two

North: Aberystwyth Town, Bala Town, Caernarfon Town, Colwyn Bay, Connah’s Quay Nomads, Flint Town United, Newtown, The New Saints South: Ammanford, Barry Town United, Briton Ferry Llansawel, Cardiff Met, Haverfordwest County, Llanelli Town, Penybont, Pontypridd United.