WARREN Gatland named his Wales squad to tour Australia on Monday and Dragons lock Matthew Screech got the nod after passing his audition against South Africa.

The Rodney Parade stalwart will join clubmates Rio Dyer, Aaron Wainwright and Ben Carter Down Under for the two Tests against the Wallabies and friendly fixture against Queensland Reds.

That came after he produced a solid display at Twickenham alongside Carter when they paired up against Springboks greats Eben Etzebeth and Franco Mostert.

It was something of a trial fixture for Screech, who has established himself as a dependable performer in the United Rugby Championship, but 10 years ago Gatland held an actual trial.

Wales played a Probables against Possibles fixture at the Liberty Stadium (now Swansea.com Stadium), with the squad to tour South Africa named immediately afterwards.

Players, coaches, families and media gathered in a room to hear Welsh Rugby Union chairman David Pickering read out the chosen ones.

That came after a one-sided game in which the Probables eased to an eight-try, 55-7 win.

Four Dragons featured in the fixture.

Possibles against the Probables in 2014Possibles against the Probables in 2014 (Image: Huw Evans Agency)

Number eight Taulupe Faletau started for the probables with back row forward Lewis Evans coming off the bench while Andrew Coombs, at blindside, and loosehead Owen Evans were in the possibles squad. Falatau was the only one to earn selection.

Ospreys livewire Matthew Morgan’s display earned a call-up along with fellow uncapped speedster Jordan Williams, now of the Dragons.

Wales would lose both Tests to the Boks, the second in agonising fashion after Liam Williams’ shoulder charge tackle led to a last-gasp penalty try.

The wait for a first win in South Africa continued until Wayne Pivac’s men stunned the world champions in Bloemfontein two years ago.

Probables: Liam Williams; Alex Cuthbert, Jonathan Davies, Jamie Roberts, Jordan Williams; Dan Biggar, Mike Phillips; Gethin Jenkins, Ken Owens, Adam Jones, Luke Charteris, Alun Wyn Jones, Josh Turnbull, Aaron Shingler, Taulupe Faletau.

Replacements: Scott Baldwin, Aaron Jarvis, Samson Lee, Lewis Evans, Josh Navidi, Rhodri Williams, Sam Davies, Dafydd Hewitt.

Possibles: Dan Fish; Harry Robinson, Cory Allen, Steve Shingler, Kristian Phillips; James Hook, Gareth Davies; Rob Evans, Matthew Rees, Rhodri Jones, Jake Ball, Ian Evans, Andrew Coombs, Ellis Jenkins, Dan Baker.

Replacements: Kristian Dacey, Owen Evans, Scott Andrews, Macauley Cook, James Davies, Lloyd Williams, Matthew Morgan, Jonathan Spratt.