NEWPORT Mike Manning Audio Wasps duo Charlie Gjedde and Jason Doyle failed in their respective bid to land the British Premier League Riders' Championship at Sheffield on Sunday night.

Dane Gjedde was pre-event favourite, but withdrew because of injury after finishing last in two races while Aussie ace Doyle reached the semi finals, where he finished fourth and last.

In his first outing, Gjedde came fourth behind Seb Alden (Berwick Bandits), Kevin Wolbert (Edinburgh Monarchs) and former Wasp skipper Mark Lemon (Newcastle Diamonds).

Next the 32-year-old, who has been on top form with Elite League side Belle Vue Aces as well as the Wasps, trailed in adrift of Ben Barker (Plymouth Devils), Kauko Nieminen (Leicester Lions) and Ben Wilson (Scunthorpe Scorpions).

In the meetings' first race, Doyle finished third behind Barker and Shane Parker (Sheffield Tigers), but ahead of Aaron Summers (Redcar Bears) to claim a point.

But Doyle returned to showed his class in winning his next two races in fine style. First he took the chequered flag ahead of Sam Masters (Somerset), Joe Screen (Glasgow Tigers) and Wolbert in a time of 61 seconds exactly.

Then he came back out to see of Rusty Harrison (Workington Comets), ex-Wasp Jordan Frampton (Rye House Rockets) and meeting-reserve Luke Chessell, an Isle of Wight Islander getting a ride in place of Gjedde, to win heat nine in 61.8secs At this stage and after three rides each, Ricky Ashworth (Sheffield) was ahead on nine points, Nieminen and Alden were joined second on eight and Doyle and Masters joint third with seven.

Doyle was out next in race 13, up against Lemon, Kevin Doolan (Ipswich Witches) and Wilson - although the Wasp could only get the better of Wilson with Doolan and Lemon finishing first and second.

With every rider now having only one ride remaining, Nieminen was clear out in front of 11 points, Alden and Masters were locked together on 10 while Barker and Ashworth each had nine.

Doyle's final race (heat 17 of the 20 qualifiers) saw him pitted against Alden, Ashworth and Nieminen and with a second-place finish behind Ashworth, Doyle ended on 10 points.

It all meant that with 13 and 12 points respectively, Masters and Ashworth were granted final places.

That left Doyle left to battle it out with Barker, Nieminen and Alden for the remaining two final spots.

However with Barker gating the better and Nieminen holding off Doyle’s strong challenge on lap two, his chance had gone and he was later overtaken by the fast-finishing Alden.

The final was won by Masters ahead of Ashworth with Nieminen third and Barker fourth.