The 2012 New Year Classic line-up has been finalised with Australian international Mark Lemon replacing Brent Werner.

Werner, who is making a track return with Plymouth for the new season, was forced to withdraw at the last minute.

He will be replaced by another ex-Wasp and former team mate at Newport in Lemon.

The Newcastle rider left Newport mid-way through 2009 when the Wasps made team changes and went to the north east, where he immediately was a success as a Diamond.

The addition of Lemon gives the line-up another number one rider and this pleases meeting co-ordinator Laurence Rogers.

“It is a pity that Brent has had to withdraw but it was a pure co-incidence that as we took that call we also were talking with top tuner Ashley Holloway in Poland who looks after GP star Emil Sayfutdinov,” he said.

“He has been working on some engine set-ups with the new silencers and Lemo will be using these at the Classic.

“Through Ashley Holloway we managed to get hold of Mark as he was boarding a flight back from Australia via Dubai and he sent me a text confirming he would ride in the meeting.”

Line-up for Monday, January 2, 1pm start (not in riding order): Ricky Ashworth (unattached); Steve Boxall (Plymouth); Kevin Doolan (Ipswich); Andre Hertzberg (unattached); David Howe (Scunthorpe and Kings Lynn); Anders Mellgren (Newport); Chris Schramm (unattached); Lee Smart (unattched);Mark Lemon (Newcastle); Andrew Tully (Edinburgh); Carl Wilkinson (unattached); James Wright (Somerset)