QUEENSWAY Meadows Stadium track expert David Howe secured a third New Year Classic victory at the speedway venue on Monday afternoon.

On an extremely wet and muddy surface, Howe was forced come from virtually the back of the field to take the chequered flag ahead of fellow-Englishman Ricky Ashworth with Australians Kevin Doolan and Mark Lemon in third and fourth places respectively.

There was no joy for Newport Wasps' Swedish star Anders Mellgren, who failed to reach the final after finishing the competition's second semi in third place only.

New Year Classic, final: 1 - David Howe (Scunthorpe Scorpions), 64.38 seconds; 2 - Ricky Ashworth (Plymouth Devils); 3 - Kevin Doolan (Ipswich Witches)l 4 - Mark Lemon (Newcastle Diamonds).

See Tuesday's South Wales Argus for a full New Year Classic report.