THE Dragons bring three Wales stars back into their XV to boost their bid for the quarter-finals of the European Challenge Cup against Newcastle tomorrow.

Head coach Bernard Jackman fields his strongest possible side for the clash with the Pool One leaders at Rodney Parade (kick-off 7.30pm) – with lock and captain Cory Hill, hooker Elliot Dee and full-back Hallam Amos returning after their autumn exertions.

Their international teammate Leon Brown sits out this weekend with the concussion that ruled him out of the final Test against South Africa but is expected to return for the festive derbies against Cardiff Blues and the Ospreys in Newport.

There are seven changes to the XV that edged to a 15-0 win against Enisei-STM with the Wales trio, fly-half Gavin Henson, wing Ashton Hewitt, loosehead Sam Hobbs and flanker Ben Roach getting the nod.

Roach comes into the back row as replacement for talisman Ollie Griffiths, who is undergoing ankle surgery after an injury against the Russians, while Joe Davies edges out Rynard Landman in the tussle to be Hill’s second row partner.

Newcastle make three changes to the side that romped to a 52-24 win against Bordeaux-Begles at Kingston Park with fly-half Joel Hodgson, wing Zach Kibirige and lock Sean Robinson coming into the XV.

South Wales Argus:

The Falcons currently top Pool One with 14 points from a possible 15 but the Dragons know that victory against the Aviva Premiership side would mean one win from their January double-header against Bordeaux-Begles is likely to be enough to at least earn one of the three best runners-up spots in the quarters.

Dragons: H Amos, J Rosser, A Warren, J Dixon, A Hewitt, G Henson, D Babos, S Hobbs, E Dee, L Fairbrother, J Davies, C Hill (captain), A Wainwright, B Roach, J Benjamin. Replacements: L Belcher, G Ellis, T Davies, R Landman, J Sheekey, C Davies, A Robson, P Howard.

Newcastle: S Hammersley, Z Kibirige, T Penny, J Matavesi, A Radwan, J Hodgson, S Stuart, S Lockwood, B Sowrey, S Wilson, W Witty, S Robinson, M Wilson (captain), G Graham, R Burrows. Replacements: J Blamire, R Vickers, T Davison, G Young, S Uzokwe, M Young, C Willis, C Wilson.​

Referee: Mike Adamson (Scotland)