NEWPORT County AFC manager Michael Flynn has made the decision to release eight players.

Veteran defender Darren Jones revealed his decision to retire from professional football earlier this afternoon and he is joined by seven others in leaving Rodney Parade.

Goalkeeper Marcus Beauchamp, defenders Liam Angel, Paul Bignot and Kieran Parselle, midfielders Finlay Wood and Jack Compton and striker Tom Meechan are also leaving the club.

A statement on the official website reads: “The club would like to thank all of the players departing for their hard work and commitment and wish them the best in their future careers.”

It continues: “The club will continue to hold meetings and negotiations with the remainder of the squad during the course of the forthcoming weeks and will announce any further player news via its official media channels.”