GWENT youngsters campaigning against bullying have been rewarded for their work by the anti-bullying charity BulliesOut.

Pupils from Abertillery Comprehensive, Monmouth Comprehensive and Ysgol Bryn Onnen in Pontypool were among the 200 young people recognised for their bravery and commitment at a national awards ceremony on June 7 at Cardiff City Stadium. BulliesOut chief executive Linda James MBE, who set up the charity in 2006, said participants develop life skills, confidence and self-esteem, while promoting good practice in schools and encouraging participation and social inclusion.

This is on top of their school work, exams and other commitments, and many have overcome personal battles with bullying, she said.

Recipients took part in three programmes run by BulliesOut: the Young Ambassador programme; Playground Pals, a primary school initiative which encourages a healthier and more active playtime; and Peer2Peer, a school based mentoring programme.

Students given peer mentoring awards from Abertillery School were: Caitlin Veale, Cerys Davies, Ebony Meredith, Kayla Wathen, Louise Bushell, Medi Powell, Owain Harding and Tyler Millard.

Students from Abertillery School who achieved a silver Youth Achievement award were: Georgia Bond, Heather Butcher, Liz Bayton, Lauren Barrett and Rhian Evans.

Students given peer mentoring awards from Monmouth Comprehensive were: Abbie Alexander, Andrew Cole, Cadina Peachey, Charlotte Ellis, Chloe Lovesey, Chloe Miller, Ella James, Felicity Walsh, Hazel Facey, Jade Barnard, Jasmine Hurley, Jodie-Anne Lowton, Lauren Bennett, Loreli Boston, Lucy Neale, Lydia Smith, Olivia Wells, Ryan St Amand, Sally Stapleton, Sophie Marchant and Vicky Archer-Palmer.

Pupils who achieved a junior Achievement Award for their role as Playground Pal at Ysgol Bryn Onnen, Pontypool were: Ben Haggerty, Cialun Rees, Carter Gould, Catrin Johnson, Catty Langford, Ellie Stevens, Ethan Broom, Evan Appleby, Finlay Hawkins, Gemma Waite, Keira Lear, Kelsey-Lea Shaw, Zack Tucker, Lauren Underwood, Luke Cox, Mason Bradley, Megan Nicholas, Niamh Craufurd, Osian Tibbs, Rebecca Weedall and Robyn Seabourne.

Young Ambassadors who achieved a bronze Youth Achievement award were Rhydian Fritter, Pontypool; and Caitlin Brockway, Newport.

Delyn Fritter, 16, Pontypool, achieved a silver Youth Achievement award