World cup record holders

First published in Sport

WHO scored the most, appeared the most, converted the most.

Top World Cup try scorers

  • 15 Jonah Lomu (New Zealand);
  • 11 Rory Underwood (England);
  • 10 David Campese (Australia) and Brian Lima (Samoa).

Most appearances

  • 23 Jason Leonard (England);
  • 18 Martin Johnson (England), Sean Fitzpatrick (New Zealand) and Richard Loe (New Zealand);
  • 17 Joost van der Westhuizen (South Africa).

Most drop-goals

  • 8 Jonny Wilkinson (England);
  • 6 Jannie De Beer (South Africa);
  • 5 Rob Andrew (England) and Gareth Rees (Canada).

Most penalties

  • 39 Jonny Wilkinson (England);
  • 36 Gavin Hastings (Scotland);
  • 35 Gonzalo Quesada (Argentina).

Most conversions

  • 39 Gavin Hastings (Scotland);
  • 37 Grant Fox (New Zealand);
  • 36 Michael Lynagh (Australia).

Biggest victory margin

  • Australia 142 Namibia 0 (2003 World Cup).

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree